top of page


Updated: Jul 10, 2023

The Gozo Motocross Championship fuelled by Enemed 2022-23 came to end today, Sunday the the 7th of May 2023 following some exhilarating motocross racing at the Ta' Xhajma motocross racetrack in Gozo.

In Class A - Steve Xuereb is crowned overall Gozitan champion for the 5th time in his carreer, the 4th in a row. His hard work and determination paid off during his incredible performances, race after race, throughout the whole season.

Meanwhile John Attard championed Class B, showing great strength and stamina which ultimately placed him at the top of his class.

Matthew Buttigieg was continually challenged in Class C but he never gave up and this is the result of his determination and efforts.

Last but not least, we watched Antoni Said rise to the top and becoming the youngest champion of class D this season!

Minister for Gozo Clint Camilleri presented victory trophies to the winners, sponsored by Enemed, while the champagne popped and congratulations took place on the success of yet another triumphant season of racing.

More awards were presented:

The Frank Bruno Award 2023 went to David Mercieca who is an exemplary rider in abiding by the rules, showing respect and discipline, showing up for training, and never giving up. He is a true motocrosser! This award was handmade by Steve Xuereb

Our juniors, Matthias Sultans, Trystn Theuma, Craig Piscopo and Diego Panza each received The Most Promising Rider award. They are determined and skilled riders who have a very good timing record in line with some of the adult riders.

Mario Cauchi won The Holeshot award. This award is given to a rider who has a good record of being the first to leave the starting gate during the races and keeping his place for the next 500 mtrs.

Marshalls are imperative during each event and the GMA marshalls were awarded for their participation and dedication to keep our riders safe. Daniel Sultana, John Theuma, Mark Piscopo and treasurer James Camilleri each received a momentum, while Scott Donavan was thanked for his commitment in training our riders, especially the juniors.

Last but not least, Mr Frank Xuereb, GMA's own president, was also awarded for his passionate dedication, commitment, diligence and love for this fantastic sports.

Here are the results of the day:

Class A:

1st place - Bernard Sammut

2nd place - Steve xuereb

3rd place - David Dimech

Class B:

1st place - John Attard

2nd place - Robert Spiteri

3rd place - Nataniel Camilleri

Class C:

1st place - David Mercieca

2nd place - Matthew Buttigieg

3rd place - Jake Vella

Class D:

1st place - Antoni Said

2nd place - Steve Cassar

3rd place - Joseph Bigeni

The day's winner were awarded trophies sponsored by Ta George Pastizzeria (Mezzan)

Before the Gozo Motocross Association enjoys a well deserved rest for the summer, it is organising a trip to Sicily were Gozitan adult and junior riders will participate in a charity race in Sicily. Riders book your place now!

Watch out for more photos of the Grand Final on our FB page and Instagram


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page